Round Robin Progress

Round Robins? What do you think about them? I have friends who always regret getting involved in them and then there are people like me who have a love/hate relationship with them.  I love working on everyone’s projects, but I hate it if I miss a deadline due to unforeseen circumstances.  That said:  Round Robins (RR) are a great way to stimulate your creativity by seeing up close what other people are doing.  They often push me beyond my comfort zone.  I love to embellish, but oh how I dread piecing.  I’ll never forget our last RR — some very lovely person sent around a project that consisted of making a “Card Trick” block.  This block  contains quarter square triangles  —- which means BIAS edges will be exposed!  What’s wrong with bias you ask?  Aside from the obvious sociological implications, biased fabric is a PIA to work with.  It never behaves itself, it certainly does not play well with others as it has a tendency to twist and turn even the straightest seams.   I thought I could control this by heavy starching, but in the end I wound up paper piecing the block and it was mostly square.  I have a newfound appreciation for paper piecing, you sew on a line and if you want pointy points, thats what you’ll get. 

The other block I had difficulty with was a perfectly innocent looking block, a watermelon slice set into a background.  Easy enough?  Not for the piecing challenged such as myself.  I tried 3 different times and ways, starching the bejimmies out of the fabric only made it like cardboard and did not result in a square block, I cut it with a rotary cutter, NOPE didn’t help, I cut it with a template, No diff.  I finally sent it on, defeated by a watermelon, oh the humiliation.  I did send the project owner extra fabric so she could make her own (by that time bleeping!) watermelon.  She kindly told me my problem was an inaccurate 1/4 in seam.  What! I’d set my Ellageo to the piecing setting but apparently that wasn’t good enough.  Now I have a 1/4 in foot with a FLANGE, that is a little bar that runs along the edge of the fabric and keeps it in line (no more wiggly seams for me!) 

I hope  you’re still with me after that long-winded way of getting to my point which is: I’ve gone from being piecing challenged to  being able to master curves like the Drunkard’s Path

I used the “cut-a-round” tool developed by Cheryl Phillips and found it very easy to accurately cut the shapes, so accurate that I only had to use 1 pin to hold the middle and I made this wallhanging in about 3 hours!  so I think I’m ready to tackle any curves sent my way in this latest RR. 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

