Mermaids Finished!

After much experimentation on the mermaids’ hair I am finally finished with my quilt for the Gig Harbor Quilt Festival — and none too soon as I’m leaving for a quilting retreat this evening. Here is the final product: I call it “Gifts from the Sea” Here is a detail shot: It doesn’t show well, but within the shells are beads inscribed with the words Hope, Healing and Miracles . Maybe this will clarify The theme for the Gig Harbor Quilt Festival is “Fishing for a Cure” so I hope this will be appropriate and will fetch a good amount come auction .

I spent a lot of time experimenting with the mermaids’ hair, much more time than I ever spend on my own LOL. I’ll post more about that when I return from my quilting retreat early next week. All these pictures are clickable so if you want to look closer you can. I’d appreciate any suggestions and critiques.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

18 Responses to “Mermaids Finished!”

  1. Vicki W Says:

    Judi, it’s beautiful!

  2. BCQuilter Says:

    Judi, well done!

    I don’t know much about embellishing, as you know.

    I like the metallic thread you used for the quilting.

    I would suggest little air bubbles trailing after the mermaids as they surface.

    -Alice

  3. Micki Says:

    You did a fantastic job. Love what you did with their hair.

  4. Schnuckiputz Says:

    Judi,your “Gifts from the Sea” quilt is beautiful !

  5. Stefani Says:

    Absolutely stunning!

  6. Kay Susan Says:

    Oh nice work!

  7. Amy Says:

    I really like the perspective you achived with the water and the figures. Beautiful quilt.

  8. Lesa Says:

    Judi, I love the way you did the hair — long, flowing and beautiful.

  9. Carol Says:

    Hi Judi,

    I just love your “Gift from the Sea” It’s just beautiful!

    Carol

  10. Tere Smith Says:

    The mermaids are very cool. The whole quilt just flows.

  11. alicia in Hawaii Says:

    Judi,
    This is beautiful! I found you through stitchin fingers…I’m there too.
    smiles,
    alicia in Hawaii

  12. Alexandra Says:

    What a gorgeous quilt! Wow!

  13. Judi S Says:

    Thank you to all of you for your encouragement and kind words and suggestions. It was a fun piece to work on and I think I will do another “sea” theme in the future.

  14. Claire Says:

    Judy,
    I found your gorgeous quilt thanks to a link provided by Kathryn at Stitchers Guild. The quilt is stunning. I love the background fabric, the mermaids, the stitching, the accents, well….everything about it I love. Your gift is truly a “gift of love”.
    Claire

  15. paulahewitt Says:

    thanks for your kind comments on my quilts (especially now ive seen this). looking forward to seeing more of your work.

  16. Sue B Says:

    Judi this is awesome!

  17. metrosupialdesigns Says:

    Amazing work! The Seattle Aquarium once had a show that showcased quilts with an aquatic theme. My jaw would have dropped at this one! Is the festival over? I got married in Gig Harbor. Thanks for the comment on my wee owl.

  18. TheeCoyote Says:

    Wow Judi, I love the water. I really get the feeling that I am underwater with this. You have a lot of vertical depth. It is wonderful.
    Did you dye (or paint the fabric) yourself? It looks like a shibori technique.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

